

Office of the Secretary Washington, D.C. 20250

March 21, 2022

The Honorable Ron DeSantis Governor State of Florida The Capitol 400 South Monroe Street Tallahassee, Florida 32399

Dear Governor DeSantis:

Thank you for your letter of February 7, 2022, requesting a primary county disaster designation for counties in Florida, due to freeze that occurred during the 2022 Crop Year. On March 1, 2022, the Florida State Executive Director of the Farm Service Agency (FSA), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), requested a primary county disaster designation for 17 Florida counties due to losses caused by freeze, frost, and ice that occurred from January 23 through January 31, 2022.

USDA reviewed the Loss Assessment Reports and determined that there were sufficient production losses to warrant a Secretarial natural disaster designation; therefore, I am designating all 17 counties as primary natural disaster areas. In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster.

At this time, USDA is unable to make a complete and accurate determination of production losses for 10 counties; therefore, a decision to designate Alachua, Brevard, Jefferson, Lake, Leon, Levy, Madison, Orange, Santa Rosa, and Suwannee Counties as primary disaster areas will be deferred until harvest.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from FSA, provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

Thomas J. Vilsack Secretary

Enclosure

Primary Counties:

Florida	(17)			
Broward	Hardee	Indian River	Okeechobee	Polk
Collier	Hendry	Manatee	Osceola	St. Lucie
DeSoto	Highlands	Martin	Palm Beach	Sarasota
Glades	Hillsborough			

Contiguous Counties:

Florida	(10)		
Brevard	Lee	Orange	Pinellas
Charlotte	Miami-Dade	Pasco	Sumter
Lake	Monroe		

Deferred Counties:

Florida	(10)		
Alachua	Lake	Madison	Santa Rosa
Brevard	Leon	Orange	Suwannee
Jefferson	Levy		