

May 10, 2021

Dear Governor Inslee,

At this time one year ago, you had just announced "Safe Start Washington," the first of the phased approaches to reopening our state economy. Since then, Washington's restaurants, bars and other hospitality establishments have demonstrated a strong commitment to following established safety protocols.

Just this week, you publicly noted hospital stays are shortening and mortality rates are decreasing as the latest wave of the pandemic appears to be leveling out. We also have noted our state's COVID-19 vaccination numbers are comparable if not better than those of most others. Yet Washington's hospitality establishments, more than any other economic sector in our state, must contend with continued restrictions on their ability to serve customers.

We see California is now poised to fully reopen its economy June 15, with Oregon intending to follow suit before the end of June. These are, with our state, the original members of the Western States Pact, which was formed with a shared vision of addressing COVID-19. We encourage you to now share the vision of Governors Newsom and Brown and decide that Washington, also, should fully reopen June 15.

These establishments are operated by our constituents and are important to our local economies. By announcing an end to the phased reopening, not merely a pause, you would free them from the emotional rollercoaster that goes with the threat – or reality – of being forced back to tighter restrictions. They have endured enough and should be allowed to begin focusing on their recovery. We trust they will act responsibly if restrictions are lifted fully and believe you can do the same.

Sincerely,

Senator John Braun Senate Republican Leader 20th Legislative District

Rep. Joel Kretz 7th Legislative District

Rep. J.T. Wilcox House Minority Leader 2nd Legislative District

Senator Mark Mullet 5th Legislative District

Senator Ann Rivers 18th Legislative District

shucken

Rep. Gina Mosbrucker 14th Legislative District

Deelly Deof

Senator Shelly Short 7th Legislative District

Keith L. Wagones

Senator Keith Wagoner 39th Legislative District

bsen

Rep. Cyndy Jacobsen 25th Legislative District

Chris Kildon

Senator Chris Gildon 25th Legislative District



Rep. Peter Abbarno 20th Legislative District

Mark I. Schoesles

Senator Mark Schoesler 9th Legislative District

Rep. Matt Boehnke 8th Legislative District

Rep. Drew MacEwen 35th Legislative District

Shanne R. Brow

Senator Sharon Brown 8th Legislative District

Rep. Joel McEntire 19th Legislative District

Revel E Muggal

Senator Ron Muzzall 10th Legislative District

Rep. Michelle Caldier 26th Legislative District

Senator Lynda Wilson 17th Legislative District

Muler a. Atule

Rep. Mike Steele 12th Legislative District

M.C. MAAMA

Rep. Mike Chapman 24th Legislative District

Rep. Jenny Graham 6th Legislative District

y alamo

Senator Judy Warnick 13th Legislative District

rodley A. Klypert

Rep. Brad Klippert 8th Legislative District

Rep. Andrew Barkis 2nd Legislative District

nolyn Eslice

Rep. Carolyn Eslick 39th Legislative District

Rep. Jesse Young 26th Legislative District

Doug Tricken

Senator Doug Ericksen 42nd Legislative District

Senator Jeff Wilson 19th Legislative District

BrowHarkis

Senator Brad Hawkins 12th Legislative District

har

Rep. Rob chase 4th Legislative District

Senator Phil Fortunato 31st Legislative District

Rep. Mary Dye 9th Legislative District

Rep. Jim Walsh 19th Legislative District

This Robertson To Oncut

Rep. Eric Robertson 31st Legislative District

Wike Gadden Jim Honey ford

Senator Mike Padden 4th Legislative District

Rep. Larry Hoff 18th Legislative District

Mark & Glicker

Rep. Mark Klicker 16th Legislative District

Senator Curtis King 14th Legislative District

10.

Rep. Skyler Rude 16th Legislative District

1) ichikraft

Rep. Vicki Kraft 17th Legislative District

Rep. Ed Orcutt 20th Legislative District

Senator Jim Honeyford 15th Legislative District

Greep Gildung

Rep. Greg Gilday 10th Legislative District

Permy Nozier

Senator Perry Dozier 16th Legislative District

IOM 1

Rep. Tom Dent 13th Legislative District

Senator Jeff Holy 6th Legislative District

Rep. Jeremie Dufault 15th Legislative District

- Kelly 1 Brp.2

Rep. Brandon Vick 18th Legislative District

Jac Shuik

Rep. Joe Schmick 9th Legislative District

Rep. Kelly Chambers 25th Legislative District

Mily Vot

Rep. Mike Volz 6th Legislative District